Be Assured

From Holiness by J.C. Ryle:

My answer to all who deny the existence of real, well-grounded assurance, is simply this–What saith the Scripture?  If assurance be not there, I have no other word to say.

But does not Job say, “I know that my Redeemer liveth, and that He shall stand at the latter day upon the dearth; and though after my skin worms destroy this body, yet in my flesh I shall see God”; (John 19:26)

Does not David say, “Though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for Thou art with me; Thy rod and Thy staff they comfort me”? (Psalm 23:4)

Does not Isaiah say, “Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on Thee, because he trusteth in Thee”? (Isaiah 26:3)

And again, “The word of righteousness shall be peace; and the effect of rightesousness quietness, and assurance for ever.”  (Isaiah 32:17)

Does not Paul say to the Romans, “I am persuaded that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord”? (Rom 8:38-39)

Does he not say to the Corinthians, “We know that if our eathrly house of this tabernacle were dissolved, we have a building of God, a house not made with hands, eternal in the heavens”? (2 Cor 5:1)

… Does he not say to Timothy, “I know whom I have believed, and am persuaded that He is able to keep that which I have committed to Him”? (2 Tim 1:12)

And does he not speak to the Colossians of “the full assurance of understanding” (Col 2:2) and to the Hebrews of the “full assurance of faith,” and the “full assurance of hope”? (Heb 6:2, 10:22)

Does not Peter say expressly, “Give diligence to make your calling and election sure“? (2 Peter 1:10)

Does not John say, “We know that we have passed from death unto life”? (1 John 3:14)

And again, “These things I have written unto you that believe on the name of the Son of God, that ye may know that ye have eternal life.”  (1 John 5:13)

… What shall we say to these things?  I desire to speak with all humility on a controverted point.  I feel that I am only a poor fallible child of Adam myself.  But I must say that in the passages I have just quoted I see something far highter than the mere “hopes” and “trusts,” with which so many believers appear content in this day.  I see the language of persuasion, confidence, knowledge–nay, I may almost say, of certainty.  And I feel, for my own part, if I may take these Scriptures in their plain obvious meaning, the doctrine of assurance is true.

In other words, for those of us who believe, we can be assured that we are His!

~ by somaefree on November 16, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
